Adults

Movies Shown every Tuesday & Friday at 2:30pm in the Theatre (unless otherwise specified)
February Movies:
Friday, February 2, 2018:  Crazy, Stupid, Love
Tuesday, February 6, 2018:  The Family Man
Friday, February 9, 2018:  27 Dresses
Tuesday, February 13, 2018:  The Proposal
Friday, February 16, 2018:  Marshall
Tuesday, February 20, 2018: When Harry Met Sally (shown in Room #2)
Friday, February 23, 2018: Murder on the Orient Express
Tuesday, February 27, 2018:  Goodbye Christopher Robin

Daytime Book Club
The FOURTH MONDAY of the month at 2pm
January 22:  Eleanor and Hick by Susan Quinn (Biography) with Librarian Cara


February 26:  The Couple Next Door by Shari La Pena with Librarian Patricia


March 26: Cooking for Picasso by Camille Aubray with Librarian Lee


April 23: Spaceman: an astronaut’s unlikely journey to unlock the secrets of the universe by Mike Massimino  (Memoir) with Librarian Mara


Evening Book Club with Librarian Mara
The SECOND THURSDAY of the month at 7pm
January 11: Beartown by Fredrik Backman
February 8: The hate u Give by Angie Thomas
March 8: All Grown Up by Jami Attenberg
April 12: Spaceman: an astronaut’s unlikely journey to unlock the secrets of the universe by Mike Massimino (Memoir)

     


SPRING BUS TRIP
Thursday, May 3, 2018
Trip to Manhattan includes:
– A guided tour of Riverside Church
– Italian Lunch at Bucca di Beppo
– Guided Tour of the New York Historical Society
(founded in 1804 – New York’s first museum)
Leave Elmont at 8:45am & arrive back approximately 7:30pm
—- Cost is $115 (due at sign-up) —-
Elmont Cardholder Sign-up begins on February 9 (Non-Resident sign-up on February 16)


DEFENSIVE DRIVING

Receive 10% off Collision and Auto Liability/PIP Rates

EMPIRE DRIVERS SAFETY
Monday, January 29 & Tuesday, January 30 from 6pm to 9pm (must attend BOTH classes)
Monday, March 19 & Tuesday, March 20 from 6pm to 9pm (must attend BOTH classes)
($27 Check or Money Order -Payable to Empire Safety Council)
Registration for everyone begins two weeks before each class.

AARP Defensive Driving (ages 50+)
Wednesday, February 28 from 10:30am to 5pm
Wednesday, April 18 from 10:30am to 5pm
Registration for Elmont Library cardholders begins two weeks before each class. Non-cardholders may register one week before if space is available.
($20 AARP members/$25 non-members/Check or money order)

 

Poetry Workshops
Dr. Linda Opyr, Poet Laureate of Nassau County and the author of six collections of poetry, has been published in numerous journals and magazines.
Participants in this workshop will have the opportunity to write poetry and share what they’ve written. Bring paper and a pen and the desire
to expand your knowledge and enjoyment of writing good poems.

Thursdays at 4pm — 5:30pm
January 4 & 18 
February 1 & 15
March 1 & 15
April 5 & 19